|There is more class information on our EVENTS link also. Private instruction is available . Please call 535-4444 for details.
- HANDGUN SAFETY & MARKSMANSHIP
- FIREARMS OWNERSHIP AND YOU
- DEFENSIVE HANDGUN I
- DEFENSIVE HANDGUN II
- DEFENSIVE HANDGUN III
- REFUSE TO BE A VICTIM
- WOMEN & GUNS
- UTAH CONCEALED CARRY
- WOMEN'S SELF DEFENSE
- SABRE OC SPRAY COURSE
- CUSTOMIZED PRIVATE INSTRUCTION
HANDGUN SAFETY & MARKSMANSHIP
This class is designed for new shooters or those who have been away from firearms for a while. The course covers many aspects of shooting handguns such as stance, grip, and sight picture. You will understand differences between the many types of calibers and types of guns available. Most importantly, you will receive quality hands-on instruction with a variety of handguns including .22 revolvers, semi-automatics,
and several different 9mm pistols and 38spl revolvers.
Sharp Shooting Indoor Range requires this class for anyone between the ages of 14 and 18 before they may shoot a handgun at our facility. Those under the age of 14 may shoot .22 rifles only. Parents must attend with their minor.
The class fee is $85.00. This includes all supplies necessary for the class such as ammunition, eye and ear protection, targets, gun rentals, and instruction.
Classes are held on a weekly basis to accommodate your busy schedule. Please check with a range employee for class dates.
This program is also available for private groups.
FIREARMS OWNERSHIP & YOU
Many new firearm owners are disappointed to find that there is a lack of information regarding the practical aspects of owning a firearm. Firearm Ownership and You was designed with these and other other questions the new firearm owner or CPL holder has in mind. It will provide you with usable information on safe handling and storage of firearms in your home or vehicle and how to guard against theft. This course will familiarize you with the process of obtaining a Washington State Concealed Pistol License and the laws pertaining to carrying a firearm in Washington. There will be discussion about the legal principles of self-defense, the laws on the use of force, and an introduction to the concept of a use of force continuum. Transporting a firearm, psychological trauma, preparation and a having a defensive mindset will also be discussed. 3 hours, $60.
DEFENSIVE HANDGUN I
Use of a handgun in a defensive role requires preparation and training. Upon completion of this course, the student will be able to more effectively employ their handgun in a defensive role. The student will learn and be able to demonstrate a successful draw and recovery to and from the holster, malfunction clearance techniques and reloading techniques. The student will be able to engage targets in a variety of scenario driven exercises using their personal handgun. This course requires completion of Sharp Shooting Indoor Range's Basic Handgun Safety and Marksmanship or Women and Guns course or instructor permission (granted on a case by case basis only). This course will require the student to provide his/her own firearm, suitable holster (strong side, IWB or appendix carry only), at least three magazines or speed loaders and 300 rounds of FMJ/TMJ/JHP/JSP ammunition. $ 135.00.
DEFENSIVE HANDGUN II
This course builds upon and improves skills taught in the Defensive Handgun 1 course curriculum, bringing the student to a level of proficiency and confidence with their personal handgun. This course consists of a combination of range and classroom instruction combined with practical skills and challenging qualification courses. Upon completion of this course, the student will be able to demonstrate and discuss proper draw and recovery from/to the holster, reloading, malfunction clearance, shooting from seated and kneeling positions, use of cover and concealment and multiple target engagements. This class is not for the beginning shooter and requires succesful completion of SSIR Defensive Handgun 1 for entry. This course requires the student to provide his/her own handgun, suitable holster, at least three magazines or speedloaders and at least 500 rounds of FMJ/TMJ/JSP/JHP ammunition. $ 200.00.
DEFENSIVE HANDGUN III
This course will build upon and expand the skills taught in Defensive Handgun 1 and 2, bringing the student to a level of proficiency and confidence with their personal firearm. This course consists of a combination of classroom and range instruction combined with practical skills and challenging exercises. Upon completion of this course, the student will be able to demonstrate and discuss all Defensive Handgun 1 and 2 skills, use of flashlight techniques, lateral/forward/rearward movement, search techniques, shooter communication, strong and support hand manipulation to include injured hand techniques and a variety of other skills. This course is not a beginning shooter course and requires completion of Handgun 1 and 2 for entry. This course requires the student to provide his/her own firearm, suitable holster, at least three magazines or speedloaders and at least 750 rounds of FMJ/TMJ/JSP/JHP ammunition. $ 200.00.
REFUSE TO BE A VICTIM
The focus of this NRA class is crime prevention. In line with the philosophy of layered self-defense, the first layer should be avoidance and prevention. RTBAV helps develop the mindset to protect you and is appropriate for a younger audience. Once kids begin going to the mall with friends, walking home from school, or babysitting for other families, this program is vital. Kids getting ready to go off to college will benefit as well. This program is frequently taught through the Institute for Extended Learning. It is a program that can be taught at your local business or church as well. Contact Robin at (509)535-4444 for more information.
WOMEN & GUNS
This class is designed for women who are interested in a firearm for self-defense. The course covers many aspects of shooting such as stance, grip, and sight picture. You will understand differences between the many types of calibers and guns available. Most importantly, you will receive quality, hands-on instruction with a variety of handguns intended to make it easier for the individual to choose the right defensive handgun.
The program also covers self-defense issues to consider, including environmental awareness and family safety. Women who are interested in non-lethal safety information should obtain a course description for Refuse to be a Victim.™
During the course of the 5-hour seminar, you will shoot different styles and calibers to help familiarize you with features available.
Food and drink are allowed and encouraged in the classroom, however, due to lead safety and spill concerns, food and drink will not be allowed on the range during the hands-on and live-fire portion of the course.
The class fee is $135. This includes all supplies necessary for the class such as ammunition, eye and ear protection, targets, gun rentals, and instruction. Classes are held monthly or bi-monthly depending on demand.
UTAH CONCEALED CARRY
The Utah Concealed Carry Permit is well worth the 4 hour class to cover you for 30+ states. This class is offered a minimum of one day per month, and is conducted in a classroom environment. This is NOT a firearms handling course. This course satisfies the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification requirements to submit the application for a Utah Concealed Carry Permit. Subjects covered include safety, Utah Laws, transporting firearms and appropriate interaction with law enforcement. 4 hours, $ 80.00.
WOMEN'S SELF DEFENSE
A layered approach to self defense is a must, even if you are a gun owner. You might be suprised to learn that you are always armed. This class will show you how to use whatever tools are available to you. In addition, you will learn the use of a Kubaton (an easy to carry defensive key chain) and understand and correctly deploy pepper spray. This class is appropriate for ages 14+. Components of this class will include hands-on drills, types of impact weapons which are effective, and the importance of mobility in any attack situation. Emphasis will be placed on avoidance, deterrence, and the need to escape an attack. Legal issues will be discussed as well. 3 hours $55.
SABRE OC SPRAY COURSE
This course, taught by a Sabre-brand certified instructor, will introduce the student to the carry, deployment and use of Sabre-brand OC spray products. The student will, through a variety of scenario-driven exercises, employ inert spray units to stop assaults and unwanted behaviors. All training materials will be provided by Sharp Shooting Indoor Range Training Staff. 4 hours, $ 60.00.
CUSTOMIZED PRIVATE INSTRUCTION
Customized Private Instruction by Sharp Shooting Indoor Range's Training Staff is available on an as-needed basis at a rate of $ 100.00 per hour. Please contact our Director of Training at the email address below for scheduling information.
For further class or training-related information, please also contact our Director of Training, Jeremy Wilson at email@example.com.